Don’t Let Judge Russia Rashly

Life is long, there will be good and bad to come, there will be everything. Great is mother Russia,” he said, and looked round on each side of him. “I have been all over Russia, and I have seen everything in her, and you may believe my words, my dear. There will be good and there will be bad. I went as a delegate from my village to Siberia, and I have been to the Amur River and the Altai Mountains and I settled in Siberia; I worked the land there, then I was homesick for mother Russia and I came back to my native village. We came back to Russia on foot; and I remember we went on a steamer, and I was thin as thin, all in rags, barefoot, freezing with cold, and gnawing a crust, and a gentleman who was on the steamer — the kingdom of heaven be his if he is dead — looked at me pitifully, and the tears came into his eyes. ‘Ah,’ he said, ‘your bread is black, your days are black. . . .’ And when I got home, as the saying is, there was neither stick nor stall; I had a wife, but I left her behind in Siberia, she was buried there. So I am living as a day labourer. And yet I tell you: since then I have had good as well as bad. Here I do not want to die, my dear, I would be glad to live another twenty years; so there has been more of the good. And great is our mother Russia!” and again he gazed to each side and looked round.

Anton Chekhov, In The Ravine

One thought on “Don’t Let Judge Russia Rashly

  1. unconcatenated

    A few years ago I found this russian graphic artist who nicknamed himself Uno Moralez. He creates so called pixel art (drawings created using raw pixels without any filters). His art is crazy/shocking/mysterious but conveys strange symbolism and some russian landscapes/fairy tale references(?). Sample short story comic http://unomoralez.com/img.html?cid=2&offset=13 that’s my favourite – something a bit Nitzscheian I think – something about darkness or void starring back at you and even chasing :D. Here’s pretty interesting interview with him: http://www.tcj.com/uno-moralez/.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

