Stop Thinking Too Much

“What are you doing here? Thinking? And how can you go on thinking, thinking, thinking?… That’s the way to go out of your mind!”
Volodya by Anton Chekhov

The habit of excessive thinking may activate a special network of brain regions, called in neuroscience “Default mode network”. That means you endlessly chew over stories about yourself.

“Unlike other animals, human beings spend a lot of time thinking about what is not going on around them, contemplating events that happened in the past, might happen in the future, or will never happen at all. Indeed, “stimulus-independent thought” or “mind wandering” appears to be the brain’s default mode of operation. Although this ability is a remarkable evolutionary achievement that allows  people to learn reason, and plan, it may have an emotional cost. Many philosophical and religious traditions teach that happiness is to be found by living in the moment, and practitioners are trained to resist mind wandering and “to be here now.” These traditions suggest that wandering mind is an unhappy mind.”
A Wandering Mind Is an Unhappy Mind by Matthew A. Killingsworth and Daniel T. Gilbert

3 thoughts on “Stop Thinking Too Much

  1. Lady Pinkrose

    I am asking a very big favor. This human has to SEE a name or HEAR a name a few times (especially a different one like yours) in order to REMEMBER said name. Could you sign your posts so that I can SEE your name so that I can remember it? I know it begins with M…..

    And as far as what is written here, I say the very same thing. Peoples seem to think until there their brains smoke, and meanwhile, really cool things could have been attempted and created. Yet, while all this tinkin’ is going on, the Mind is not in NOW. And neither are those peoples enJOYing Life.

    Oh, yes, tinkin’ is good, and I do admit, I do tink too. But I like to DO. And put the tinkin to practical use, or create beauty too!

    You are one smart cat! Wow! I am so impressed!

    Purrzzzzz,
    Mom Bonza

    Reply
    1. Lady Pinkrose

      Thank you, Migotka. Your name is SO unique and beautiful, and I will remember it. I promise you. IF my Cuddles ever got his eyes on you, he would be biting my hands as I typed trying to get to you. You’s a looker. (So is my Cuddles!) LOL

      Purrrzzzzz, Lady Amy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

