Overfeeding

“(…) a village cat driven by hunger to eat cucumbers in the kitchen-garden” ( from Chekhov’s “About Love”) had to experience extreme starvation.

You can also experience the opposite extreme.

My mistress, you overfed me.

I know I am mad at the sight of the food. But you must ignore it.

I know I get crazy when smell cooking in the kitchen. But you must ignore it.

You are afraid that ignored creature is making destructive choices. You thought, seeing plenty of cats killed by cars on country roads, that those cats underwent owner’s care too little.

My mistress, do not ignore my necessities and at the same time you cannot feed me too much. I became a bit too ponderous. Now I am not walking on roofs and not climbing too high  a tree.

Leave a Reply

