“To be a martyr to the devil knows what”

“What sort of father of a family am I? I am a martyr. I am a beast of burden, a niger, a slave, a rascal who keeps on waiting here for something to happen instead of starting off for the next world. I am a rag, a fool, an idiot. Why am I alive? What’s the use? Well now, tell me why am I alive? What’s the purpose of this uninterrupted series of mental and physical sufferings? I understand being a martyr to an idea, yes! But to be a martyr to the devil knows what, skirts and lamp-globes, no! I humbly decline! No, no, no! I’ve had enough! Enough!”
“A Tragedian in Spite of Himself” by Anton Chekhov

Tolkachov, the character of Chekhov’s play does not symbolize the sense of being safe. How recklessly he blights himself! He is not responsible for himself. So all the more he does not deal with people and situations effectively. If you are accompanied by such person you can have troubles.

Leave a Reply

